

Morinville Public Library Board

Purpose:

The Town of Morinville Library Board (official name) is a corporation. The municipal library board, subject to any enactment that limits its authority, has full management and control of the municipal library and shall, in accordance with the regulations, organize, promote and maintain comprehensive and efficient library services in the municipality and may cooperate with other boards and libraries in the provision of those services (Libraries Act - section 7). The Library Board develops bylaws and policies that prescribe rules for the management, organization, operation and use of the municipal library. The Library Board is also tasked each year with preparing the library budget and an estimate of money required during the ensuing fiscal year to operate and manage the municipal library. The budget and estimate are submitted to Council, who may approve the estimate in whole or in part (*Libraries Act* - section 8).

Membership:

The Library Board consists of no less than five and no more than ten members appointed by Council. Library board members require skills that will be used by the board. Members with skills in fundraising, public service, communication, policy development, finance and planning to support or lead the board are always welcome. The Library Board has three executive positions: Chair, Vice Chair and Treasurer.

Term:

The term consists of three years. A member of the board can be reappointed for only two additional consecutive terms of office unless at least 2/3 of the whole Council passes a resolution stating that the member may be reappointed as a member for more than three consecutive terms (*Libraries Act* - section 4).

Board Members:

Name	Capacity	Term
Clint Richards	Public Member	Apr. 1, 2022 - Mar. 31, 2025
Daniel Hrycyk	Public Member	Nov. 1, 2024 – Oct. 31, 2026
David Purkis	Public Member	Nov. 1, 2022 – Oct. 31, 2025
Donald Dingman	Public Member	Nov. 1, 2024 – Oct. 31, 2027
Karen Kiddine	Public Member	Nov. 1, 2022 – Oct. 31, 2025
Kelsey Hynes	Public Member	Nov. 1, 2024 – Oct. 31, 2027
Linda Ladouceur	Public Member	Nov. 1, 2022 – Oct. 31, 2025
Leanne LaRocque (Chair)	Public Member	Nov. 1, 2023 – Oct. 31, 2026
Roberta Babcock	Public Member	Nov. 1, 2024 – Oct. 31, 2027
Councillor Maurice St. Denis	Council Representative	Nov. 1, 2024 – Oct. 19, 2025

Meeting Dates:

Board meetings are held on the second Wednesday of each month at 6:30 pm. The regular board meetings are open to the public. Other meetings require the attendance of the Board members (budget, plan of service, fundraising) and are scheduled as necessary. Board members also volunteer their time to help with the fundraising efforts and various library events.

Bylaw / Policy:

The Library Board is under the jurisdiction of the *Alberta Libraries Act*, RSA 2000, Chapter L-11 (current as of September 1, 2019) and the <u>Town of Morinville Library Board of Management Bylaw # 7/2000.</u>

Administrative Contact:

Rachelle Gilbert Legislative Officer 780-939-4361